PResenting….

The MAC299 Social Media course blog

Week2 s2: Time to explore

Posted by mediations on February 12, 2010

Yesterday brought  the sad news of the death of fashion designer Alexander McQueen. It will be on the front pages of today’s newspapers, and featured prominently in television and radio , but it will also generate a great deal of comment through social media.

How did you find out he had died? Were you personally upset or affected by the news? Spend some time looking at the way this event has been covered by non-establishment websites and blogs, and microblogging sites (Twitter, Facebook), then write a picee for your blog. This can take the form of a personal comment, a news feature, or even an academic case study. Use delicious and other tools to organise your inquiry.

Tell us what you found out about McQueen but, more importantly, think about the way in which the social media community reacted.  Remember, too, that many other people will be doing searches on McQueen, and they may well stumble on your work so make sure it reflects well on you and your university! When you have finished, add a comment, with a link, to this post pointing us to you post, and including a couple of sentences summarising your impressions.

In the second half of the lesson, we will work on building the number of interesting sites you follow, adding them to Google Reader and to the blogroll on your own sites, and, following your recommendations, to this course blog. I suggest you create to sections in your blogroll, one for media – PR or journalism sites, and one for sites that will be of wider interest to readers of your personal blog.  Both PR Studies and Online Journalism have extensive  lists that will get you started. Go for quality not quantity – write a short post saying you have begun to build a blogroll, and saying why you have chosen to include five named and linked sites.

We will also decide between your recommendations for an appropriate template for this blog – it will have a new look by the end of the session.

So a busy couple of hours – get going!

6 Responses to “Week2 s2: Time to explore”

  1. I had never heard of Alexander McQueen until yesterday, so I was not really shocked or saddened by the news. After looking at sites like Twitter and Facebook people were devastated. People paid tribute to him all throughout the internet, and after doing a little research you can clearly see that he will be missed. I blogged about it here at http://mac299testblog.wordpress.com/

  2. wendy689 said

    Hi fellow bloggers. I hope everyone has learned as much as I have today.
    Please visit and comment on my blog to let me know what you think. http://wendy689.wordpress.com/

    I think I need to start using the Google I-reader more and understanding how using it will help benefit me in the future and for this course.

    Keep blogging 🙂

    Wendy x

  3. I heard about the death of Alexander McQueen, as I was driving home from university yesterday afternoon. I was listening to the BBC’s Radio One station. At the time I wasn’t aware of his name but when I later looked into it, and saw images I recogised him straight away. I was familiar with some of his work too, when i looked further into the news srrounding his death.

  4. chriskostallari said

    In today’s class we learned a lot of new things and we had a good progress in our blogs. Based on Alexander’s Mcqueen death I posted something more to my blog and this make me feel more comfortable with it because i start feeling more familiar with it.

    anyway cu later guys

  5. Hannah Green said

    http://hannahgreen89.wordpress.com/2010/02/12/twitter-leads-the-way-for-breaking-news/ Here is my blog. Please read.

  6. wendy689 said

    Just to let people know that I found out about the horrific train crash in Brussels by looking at facebook. I then went straight onto google reader to find out more. I am pretty sure this will be one of the topics of tomorrows lecture.

Leave a Reply

 
